TX License to Carry Handgun Class

Class Details: 

Saturdays: 8:00 am to 2:30 pm

Class Location:
Go Heeled Classroom
1015 N. School Street

Range Location:
Caliber Canyon Gun Range
139 Walnut Grove Road

Tuition:  $95

Age: 19 (not eligible to apply for a License To Carry until the age of 21). 

PURPLE REGISTER ONLINE 175 PIXELS


2019 Sessions

Session XI: November 9
Session Xll: December 14

2020 Sessions

Session I: January 11
Session II: February 8
Session III: March 14
Session IV: April 11
Session V: May 9
Session VI: June 13
Session VII: July 11
Session VIII: August 8
Session IX: September 12
Session X: October 10
Session XI: November 14
Session Xll: December 12

Purpose

If you are interested in obtaining a License To Carry a handgun (concealed or openly) in the State of Texas, this course is a requirement. Upon successful completion of this training and submission of the application and fingerprints, DPS will issue a license to those who are legally eligible. This course will cover all state required topics, Basic Firearms Safety, Safe Handling and Storage, Non-Violent Dispute Resolution, Use of Force Laws, Civil and Criminal Liability, and Texas Handgun Laws. This is not a Learn To Shoot Class. Attendees must be able to demonstrate that they can safely and proficiently operate a handgun.

There is an additional fee to DPS to obtain a license.

Course Includes:

  • 4-6 hour State-Mandated Classroom Instruction
  • Classroom materials and handouts
  • Application preparation instruction
  • Refreshments
  • Fifty (50) round firearms qualification on a DPS approved range
  • Range fee, target, safety glasses, and hearing protection
  • Certificate of Completion (if student meets minimum qualifications)

Students Must Supply:

  • Valid Texas Drivers License or ID card
  • Footwear that covers the entire foot
  • A shirt with a conservative neckline (to protect against hot brass)
  • Handgun: Revolver or Semi Auto (no minimum caliber)
  • Handguns should be in safe working order
  • It no longer matters what type of handgun is used when qualifying. You will be licensed to cary both semi-auto and revolver.
  • One empty magazine required for semi-autos
  • Ammunition: Minimum 50 founds of factory ammo (no reloads).
    Rental handguns are available with ammo for $30